Tag: , ,

“Intimacy Happens,” mixed media by Marilyn Frasca, photo courtesy of the artist

REVIEW: Marilyn Frasca at Childhood’s End

VISUAL ARTS REVIEW by Alec Clayton for OLY ARTS Marilyn Frasca is a marvel. If there was ever such a thing as a must-see show, it’s Frasca’s show of some 56...

Heather R. Christopher as Dr. Seuss' The Cat in the Hat

REVIEW: Dr. Seuss’ The Cat in the Hat at OFT

THEATER REVIEW by Alec Clayton for OLY ARTS Dr. Seuss’ The Cat in the Hat at Olympia Family Theater is a fun play that breezes nonstop through almost-constant...

Silent Sky

REVIEW: Silent Sky at Olympia Little Theatre

THEATER REVIEW by Alec Clayton for OLY ARTS Before there were machines called computers, there were women called computers, meaning, according to Peter Shaw (Drew Doyle)...

Will Lippman, Bruce Haasl, Christie Oldright and Carolyn Willems Van Dijk in First Date. Photo courtesy Harlequin Productions

REVIEW: First Date at Harlequin Productions

THEATER REVIEW by Alec Clayton for OLY ARTS Harlequin Productions’ First Date is a romantic comedy in the tradition of Hepburn and Tracy, Doris Day and Rock Hudson,...

REVIEW: Harlequin’s Present Laughter

THEATER REVIEW by Alec Clayton for OLY ARTS Nöel Coward’s 1940s-period romance Present Laughter is as funny today as it was when Coward himself played the...

"Phoebe 1," oil on wood panel by Peter Scherrer

REVIEW: Jean Nagai and Peter Scherrer

VISUAL ARTS REVIEW by Alec Clayton for OLY ARTS Salon Refu ends its brief but amazing history as the only gallery in South Puget Sound to rival major galleries in major...

Charging, archival digital print by Joe Hedges

REVIEW: Joe Hedges at SPSCC

VISUAL ARTS REVIEW by Alec Clayton for OLY ARTS If Joe Hedges is trying to convey a message, I don’t get it. But as purely aesthetic objects and images, they’re...

“Facing North,” sculpture with moss and other natural materials by Lucy Gentry Meltzer, overhead natural wood frame by John Corzine, photo by Scot Whitney

REVIEW: Lucy Gentry Meltzer at Salon Refu

VISUAL ARTS REVIEW by Alec Clayton for OLY ARTS Lucy Gentry Meltzer’s Biophilia Collection at Salon Refu is a selection of small voodoo dolls and sculptural figures on...

"Once I Was a Baby Blue Convertible," linoleum block print by Mimi Williams

REVIEW: Papercuts, Pastels and Prints at Childhood’s End

VISUAL ARTS REVIEW by Alec Clayton for OLY ARTS I have been following Sherry Buckner’s art, mostly in shows at Childhood’s End Gallery, for well over 20 years. Her...

1984

REVIEW: 1984 at TAO

THEATER REVIEW by Alec Clayton for OLY ARTS The setting is bleak, harsh, cold. Everything is gray. When the lights come up we see a figure in a fetal position on a...